Please note: We homeschooled our children in the state of Utah from 2006-2007. Laws and requirements may have changed since this page was posted. For more information on homeschooling in Utah, I recommend you visit the HSLDA website.
Homeschooling in Utah
Utah law specifically refers to homeschooling in Utah Code Ann. § 53G-6-204(2).
For parents who wish to home school their child, the State of Utah requires the parent to complete and file an affidavit with their local school district stating their intent to home school.
Basic Summary of the Law
Summary of Requirements
You must enroll your child in school from the day he or she turns 6 years old, until he or she turns 18.
Parents/Guardians shall submit a signed and notarized affidavit, to the school age child’s school district of residence, stating that the child will attend home school.
A local school board may not require a parent of the home-schooled minor to maintain records of instruction or attendance.
There are no required days of instruction nor required subjects for homeschoolers in Utah.
Utah Homeschool Laws
- Parents/Guardians shall submit a signed and notarized affidavit, to the school age child’s school district of residence, stating that the child will attend home school and acknowledging the sole responsibility for the education of the school age minor(s). The affidavit is available at the school district of residence offices. See Utah Code Ann. § 53G-6-204(2).
- School Boards excusing minors from attendance as provided by the statute, shall issue a certificate stating that the minor student is excused from attendance during the current school year and on an annual basis thereafter. Once the affidavit has been submitted, with all required information, the attendance exemption certificate must be provided to parent(s) within 30 days.
- Download the Utah Frequently Asked Questions About Homeschool
Utah Homeschool Standardized Tests
Testing is NOT required in the state of Utah.
Utah Homeschool Letter of Intent
You must file a signed and notarized affidavit with your local school board for each of your children when you start homeschooling in the state of Utah. The affidavit must contain a statement that your child will be attending a homeschool and that the parents assume sole responsibility for the education of the student, except for the portion of time the child is dual enrolled in a public school. After the school board receives your affidavit, you will receive an excuse certificate acknowledging your homeschool program within 30 days, and a new certificate each subsequent year by August 1st. You do not need to refile your affidavit as long as you remain in that district.